330. “A User’s Guide to Slip Dresses” (Allure, May 1994)

image

i wanted a slip dress so bad when I was 11, 12 years old. The most close I ever got was some sewn together white t-shirt + green floral slip dress WalMart was selling in the Summer of 1995 right as the trend was dying. 

image

Yeah, it was similar to the one the lady in the cigarette ad from the same magazine is wearing. 

image

Yes, Catherine, the doll look was big at this time, and into the Spring of 1995. With the thigh high stockings and the shiny Mary Jane shoes. I wanted those thigh highs too, back then, but you know, I was 12, and fat. 

image
image

Lace (white!) bike shorts you guys. Lace.bike.shorts. 

image

This is how I associate the black slip dress, with a white top of some sort underneath it. 

image

So many white socks. Like the bagged sock aisle at walmart in present day.

Pair your black slip dress with:

image

I just realized, I accidentally put that yellow arrow there. Ignore that. 

black eyeliner.  Molton Brown doesn’t make makeup anymore. 

image

White shoes.  

I could’ve sworn I posted an article earlier this year about white shoes coming back in style in 1995, but now I can’t find it. I can’t get the archive to pull up right now.   Here it is. 

image

The darkest lipstick you can find with your boob almost hanging out. 

image

a cat eye that looks like it would fit right in in 2017. 

Facebook | Etsy | Retail History Blog | Twitter | snapchat (thelastvcr) | YouTube Playlist | Random Post

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment