371. Seventeen, December 1987

image

I wanted to revisit Christmas, 1988 in some sort of magazine, but the closest I had was Christmas, 1987. It’s still pretty extreme, I promise! 

image
image

Like, if Tina Belcher was real, this would be her office environment. A strong woman that patted guys butts. 

image

Damn, Bart! Who knew. I kinda want to touch his belly button??

(Oh geez I just realized ~baby Tumblr might flag this~)

image

I’m only just realizing how big nightscapes were with 80s advertising. Even you, petroleum jelly ChapStick.

image

This is what I always associate with Gitano clothing: blue and pink. That sweater skirt though looks like it would be hell on your skin, even with tights. All itchy, the waistband being stretched out after the first use. 

image

This is so Kelly Bundy. The uniform of 1987. (ad for Jordache) 

image

This was half an ad for Au Coton, a defunct clothing store. SO BAGGY. Especially the olive green lady, Chantal. I’m so uncomfortable by the bagginess. 

image

Parade around in a Chinese Lantern Headband….

image

I still don’t understand this ad for Night Spice. Is he looking at the mirror, imagining himself with this woman? Is he thinking about later on that evening? 

image

I feel like the whirlwind of a buyer discovering something you created and then buying your designs would never happen today. 

image

What teenager could afford Chanel cosmetics? 

image

I’m in love with the yellow gloves. I had Isotoners like, 15 years ago and I think my hands were just too big for ‘em. Can we talk about the ugly tote bag? Who needs that. Other than keeping your colorful glove collection in it. 

image

These are rambling paragraphs about nothing. They were pretty spot on about the Doc Martens though. ‘Member lip gloss?

image

Facebook | Etsy | Retail History Blog | Twitter | snapchat (thelastvcr) |YouTube Playlist| Random Post | digital tip jar | Instagram @ thelastvcr |other tumblr

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment