30. The 1994 Spy Magazine 100 (February 1995 issue)

Before launching into the article, check out this pic of RuPaul with Dr. Ruth:

There is an article on page 6 about 1994 being a good year for stupid people, including this gem:

I had no clue that there were enough viewers of seaQuest to warrant it being “must see tv” of the O.J. jurors. I had to google Michael Huffington, he’s Arianna Huffington’s ex husband, and spent $28 million to run for Senate in 1994, being the most expensive (at the time) political campaign for a non presidential candidate1.  

This artwork amuses me immensely. Who is the guy in the suit next to Anna Nicole though? I like to imagine that it is David Caruso. It better not be Conan. 

ha, there was a time in 1990s where popular movie and TV stars would just all of a sudden, wear glasses, usually the biggest glasses they could find (see Sylvester), and usually just wear them once, and that was it. I remember back then Ted Danson had some pretty big “smart guy” glasses:

{source}

(Ted Danson looks pretty good in glasses now)

Oh right, right, right the list

Forrest Gump was number one, and who would have thought that we would still be talking about number two, and he would be trying to run for president 18 years later:

I forgot about the Contract With America, since I was only 10, 11 in 1994, I for some reason thought it had something to do with computers?! Yeah. Not a bright kid that read the newspaper.  Also, I had no clue his first “ugly” wife was HIS HIGH SCHOOL TEACHER. 2

We all laugh at that price for a small pizza now. 

Somebody needs to make a reenactment of that fight and put it on YouTube. 

…wow. 

I want to meet the woman who has worn Wonderbras exclusively from 1994 to present day. Do women still buy the namebrand Wonderbras?

How did I not know about this plane crash? This is one of the most terrible things I’ve ever read. Here is a documentary about the plane crash, I haven’t watched it yet.

~~~**THE FUTURE~~~**

Here is a more detailed article about perhaps the most uppity woman of 1994, Kathleen Battle. Various internet sources lead me to believe that this was Battle’s final Opera, although she still does recordings today.

Jennifer Capriati stealing the $35 ring might be my favorite “celebrity does something stupid” story. 

It’s so interesting to read this, considering how widely accepted anti-depressants are today. 

Years ago, my friend gave me her Mystery Science Theater 3000 VHS tapes from 1993/1994, with most of the commercials fully intact. So, so many commercials with the Zima Guy. But yet, I haven’t uploaded a one to my Youtube (s). This is the one that is on my mst3k tapes the most. 

In the introduction for this entry, I was going to mention that one of my most vivid memories of 1994 was seeing a dirty, homeless looking Adam Duritz bouncing around an apartment singing Mr. Jones on Vh1 about 25 times a day. 

With the exception of the coin operated computers, everything is pretty much the same. 

Of course, John Daly is referring to “Drexel’s Class”. 

Although, which magazine is still being published today. Hmm?

Related Links:

The 1995 List

The 1993 List 

The 1987 List

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment