(special) The Atari cartridges that were found in the landfill this week

I still can’t believe that one of the biggest legends of the 1980s is actually true. They found the E.T. Atari games in the desert. 

image

(I can’t believe the man who designed that horrible game had the audacity to show up, ha) 

Hundreds of thousands of copies of the Atari products, included one of the worst games of all time, E.T. were rumored to be be dumped in a landfill in Alamogordo, New Mexico in 1983. The New York Times ran a short blurb about the event in 1983, but reporters and gawkers were kept away from the landfill that day. 

Elementary School Graduation Party June 10 1994

My dad bought me an Atari at the thrift store in the Spring of 1994 when I was 10. I didn’t have E.T. However, I did have the same glasses the boy from The Goldbergs wears. 

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment