130. My favorite Meshach Taylor scene from “Dave’s World”

Meshach Taylor died, and it absolutely breaks my heart that so many people we enjoyed watching on TV when we were kids are passing away faster than ever. 

While I watched Meshach on Designing Women with my mom when I was in elementary school, I loved him more on Dave’s World, which was Harry Anderson’s post Night Court sitcom in the mid 1990s. He played Shel, Dave Barry’s (Anderson) neighbor, and friend from high school, Shel. My mom and I watched Dave’s World every Friday night when it first debuted. It’s definitely up there with my favorite shows growing up. 

UNFORTUNATELY, my absolute favorite Shel scene isn’t on YouTube. So I have to explain it, which isn’t nearly as fun as watching the clip and laughing at it. I hope I remember all the details. 

Dave’s sons named one of their pets Kenny, after Dave’s friend. Shel complains that the kids never named a pet after him.

This is happening during the weekly poker match between Dave and friends, a fly flies past Dave, Dave slams it on the table and says, “aww, poor Shel!

See, I can’t explain it. All we have on the internet is the scene that goes with Harry’s title card in the opening credits. 

External Links:

Dave’s World DVDs (1,2,3)

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment