246. Seventeen, April 1994, part 1

Seventeen, June 1994

(external images, click on grey boxes. I had to watermark everything, in case Buzzfeed copies my stuff again–which they will.) 

A spring magazine during the holiday season? Yes. Because Mariah stands for Christmas. 

image

Remember the black and white alternative “All I want for Christmas” video? I only saw it one time on vh1 on Christmas Eve ‘94 or ‘95, and that was pretty much it. This was the only good copy on YouTube, and to get around copyrights, the uploader had to put the original video in the background of the black and white video.

Seventeen, June 1994

This is for Navy White, but I remember Charlie White, mom bought it for me right before 8th grade in 1996. It stunk. It made one of my metal lunchbox purses smell bad.

Seventeen, June 1994

That’s hideous. Sharon from My So Called Life would wear this. Angela would wear her tye-dye Grateful Dead shirt over a black one piece. 

Seventeen, June 1994

If Sue from The Middle was around 1994, this would be her.

Seventeen, June 1994

Seventeen, June 1994

Gabrielle Reece was everywhere around this time. The Olympics were not for another 2 years. She also filmed a Pert commercial around this time.

Seventeen, June 1994

Seventeen, June 1994

Take Your Daughter to Work Day was in its second year.

Seventeen, June 1994

Seventeen, June 1994

Mariah would never wear Maybelleine. She’s also sporting the dark lip liner + clear lip gloss look.

Seventeen, June 1994

It’s impossible these days to find the liquid Neutrogena with the black pump. I bet it smells heavenly. I love that strange spicy scent of the “orange band” soap.

Seventeen, June 1994

That is the curly hair of my deams that my hair will never aspire to.

Seventeen, June 1994

Seventeen, June 1994

Those long flowery brown dresses were always so unflattering on us.

Seventeen, June 1994

Seventeen, June 1994

That’s not a good pose.

Seventeen, June 1994

I remember this Ban Clear being one of the earliest"clear craze" products I ever bought when I was 9 or 10, and I had to try another deodorant after Teen Spirit made me itch. The other clear craze products I had was Crystal Pepsi (nope, I didn’t get any for xmas from the Pepsi Pass app contest), and that clear Wylers drink mix that tasted like watermelon, but was *~clear~*. It looks like its still for sale?

Seventeen, June 1994

Those top shoes in “straw fiesta” are so Elaine Benes.

Seventeen, June 1994

All the “out of Africa” shoes are Elaine Benes too. All the “Grecian Formula” shoes are ugly.

This is going to be a “several parter”. I’m nowhere near Mariah. 

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment