244. Big List of Favorite Commercials

image

Every previous big list of favorite commercials Every year, I post a new lit of my favorite commercials at Christmas and my birthday. Ovbi:

image
image

Chevy Venture (1998, Canada) 

cuz the baby dachshund in the commercial looks like my baby dachshund, Maggie, who turns 11 this month.

image

Motts Applesauce (1988)

This commercial with this drug Motts dealer, was featured prominently in an episode of The Purple Stuff Podcast where the host made a list of their favorite things from 1988. This was one of The Sexy Armpit’s favorite things, this bizarre commercial where this gangster kid calls up this nerd and barters applesauce. Applesauce > a magic bunny and a skateboard. 

image

Kraft Parmesan with Allyce Beasley (1990)

One day I’ll write about this later, but when I was little, I was briefly obsessed with Moonlighting, because my mom always watched it before my bedtime. I like, thought that Maddie, David, and Agnes DiPesto (Allyce Beasley) the secretary were my imaginary friends. So I was real jazzed to see her in a commercial for green can cheese when I was six. 

image

Stove Top in the Canister 

She also did a very meta commercial for Stove Top in the Canister! She’s gonna make Stove Top for Mr. Addison and all those Blue Moon employees that never did anything. How could David afford to pay them? 

image

Korbel (1993)

Growing up I thought the lady in this ad was Julia Louis-Dreyfus, but I don’t think it is now that I look. I think she’s just a mere impersonator. I couldn’t find an article about the commercial or any proof online. 

image

College Inn Chicken Broth (1989?)

1. What an odd name for a broth company. 

2. Dandelion soup is apparently a thing. I thought dandelions were weeds in your backyard. 

3. She says she sits back and watches the raccoons drool by the window. Girl, raccoons eat garbage. They want your garbage soup. 

image

1997 Campbells with Tara Lipinski, Michelle Kwan, and Nicole Bobek

1995 National Figure Skating champion Nicole Bobek looks so out of place with teenagers Tara and Michelle. I always felt like Michelle and Tara never got along either. 

image

1996 Kodak Fun Saver with Dominque Dawes 

When you think about it, this commercials must have cost a fortune to make. Putting that old people makeup on those gymnasts. 

image

1995 American Express with Jerry Seinfeld lost at Sea 

image

1981 American Greetings 

This commercial makes me so sad! Thinking about someone who was forgotten at Christmas, but then she finally gets a card, and it has ZIGGY! on it. 

image

 1993 RCA With Patrick Stewart Voiceover 

I just love the way he says “Nipper and Chipper!”. Like that time he said “Salt n’ Pepa!” on SNL. Bless that man. 

image

Facebook | Etsy | Retail History Blog | Twitter | snapchat (thelastvcr) | YouTube Playlist | Random Post | digital tip jar

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment