244. The Big List of Favorite Commercials (part 12)

image

(part 11) 

image

“Frankly We Don’t Give a Damn Monday (1994) CBS promo” 

This coincided with CBS’ airing of the Gone With the Wind sequel, Scarlett. I don’t think Scarlett did that well in the ratings or with the critics, but check out Miles from Murphy Brown trying to chase down Corky who has “forgotten” to pick him up from car pool. Was this around the time that they were married for convenience, I think? *searches*

Not yet. I think the clip is from this episode: 

Unbeknownst to Miles, Corky classifies a Saturday night dinner with him as a date. When he does find out, at first he isn’t interested, but then changes his mind.

Corky & Miles got married at the beginning of the following season. I don’t think it was ever brought up in the revival a year and a half ago. Someone needs to bring that back. 

image

“1989 7-11 Commercial – Soft Drinks”

I wish I could still wander over 7-11 and get a cold 12 pack of Diet Coke. You really think they ever had cold six packs of Diet Sprite? Naaaah. Hot take, but Diet Sprite is one of the nastiest diet sodas around. 

image

“Lea & Perrins Commercial 1991″

I love Lea & Perrins, but yeah, its salty. Why would you put it on even salter canned soup?! Then, THEN they put it in spaghetti sauce?! 

image

“Ally McBeal (Toilet Rescue) – 1999 Australian TV Promo”

Was this a joke about how tiny Ally is? Or is it a joke about how guys leave the toilet seat up all the time? (Remember that one of the “quirks” about the show was that the law office Ally worked in had a unisex bathroom?)

image

“Kraft Healthy Favorites Ad- Cream Cheese (1992)”

psst, guys I think this is a cross promo for Coach

image

“TROJAN – YOU WANNA PROTECT IT WRAP IT UP (1991)”

I feel like Maude is telling us to use condoms.

image

Giant Price:Martins 30 sec GNTF 3053 9:29:93 Gray Kirk Vansant Red Car

Martins was my store back in college. 

image

“WJBK Eyewitness News break & more (April 1992) (@ :52)”

When she said “booty”, her fellow newsreporter was trying his best not to bust out laughing. After I saw it, I immediately said, “booty, booty BOOTY!” like that joke on The Critic

image

“1983 Sharp SF825 Copier “Reduces and enlarges” TV Commercial”

This guy looks like if Ronald McDonald got head shots and tried to fly straight as an actor.

image

1990 – Michael Gross on Healthy Mexican Food

I love Michael Gross, such a cutie. I totally remember this commercial from when I was a kid. I associated Healthy Choice with him for years. 

image

Even if they only had one edible meal back then – the grilled chicken parm with the green corkscrew noodles, steamed carrots, and cherry cobbler. I’m 37 years old, 25 years after its been discontinued, and I still crave that stupid TV dinner.

Facebook | Etsy | Retail History Blog | Twitter | YouTube Playlist | Random Post | Ko-fi donation | instagram @thelastvcr

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment