333. Frasier: Miracle on Third or Fourth Street (1993)

image

Frasier: Miracle on Third or Fourth Street (1993)

image

Since its Frasier’s first year at KACL, he has to drive the office lush home, Bonnie. Apparently, Bonnie likes to have her way with men after a couple of drinks. 

image

(why does Bonnie remind me of Susan Strong of Adventure Time?)

image

Roz gives Frasier this elegant suitcase, and he gives her a gag gift of a microphone that squirts. He didn’t even spring for that microphone from Simpsons that Homer gives bart for his birthday:

image
image

…which is funny because it looks exactly like it!

image

I miss it when Eddie would steal the show on Frasier those first couple of seasons. Also, Niles’ super cleanliness. 

image

Niles Crane is the only person alive who can pull off this scene without looking like a horny ol hound dog. You see, he asked Daphne to try on some dresses he bought for his wife Maris. Daphne looks fine in that dress. Niles dropped his glass of sherry when Daphne said that the dress was so small she had to take her underwear off in order to zip it up. But she’s wearing tights? Was she being flirty with Niles…

Oh! Speaking of Maris, as you may know, we never saw Maris in the series. I always pictured her looking like JFK Jr’s wife, Carolyn Bessette: 

image

but a little more haggard. After all, Maris shoots warning shots at the deer that graze through the garbage at the Crane family cabin during the holidays. Of course, Niles wants Daphne to come with, but she’s flying to San Francisco to see her Uncle Jackie. At Thanksgiving, she had to cut Jackie out of his pantyhose after dinner. 

Frasier is PISSED that his son Frederick isn’t flying to Seattle to see him. Instead he’s flying to Austria with his mom to stay at the house from the Sound of Music….Freddy’s favorite film? That’s a stretch even for the hoity hoity fancy pants Cranes. 

image

Frasier wants to put up a 1990s classic Christmas decoration instead of Martin’s traditional Christmas lights … chili pepper lights!!! I remember they were the first wacky lights that dropped back in the day! 

Frasier and Martin’s fights about petty stuff used to be in every single episode in the first season it seemed. Thankfully, they eased off some in the ongoing seasons. 

image

The entire time they’re fighting, Eddie is hiding! Frasier decides to not go to the cabin, and stays at home to fill in for Bulldog on Christmas Day.

image

I forgot that Roz had to come in to assist Frasier on Christmas Day! Dammit, Frasier, that’s cold. Her mom came from Wisconsin! 

image

“It still traumatizes me … I wake up nights, and I remember that Christmas morning. I walked into my mother’s bedroom, tears running down my face, and I said, ‘mommy, mommy! The puppy Santa gave me won’t wake up.’“ 

The first time I saw this episode was in the Summer of 1994 reruns when I was 11. That phone call absolutely devastated me. I think I almost cried. I was having a rough time. My dad was out to sea. 

You know who voiced Tom, the puppy guy? Mel Brooks.

image

I’m going to wrap it up here, but most people I think remember this show for the scene at the diner, which I will link to. 

image

One last Frasier thing!! I almost forgot! The 12 Days of Frasier. 

Every single time Christmas has been mentioned here at this blog. 

Facebook | Etsy | Retail History Blog | Twitter | snapchat (thelastvcr) | YouTube Playlist | Random Post | digital tip jar 

Author: Anita

Pretend historian.

Leave a comment